# DE SOTO SCHOOL DISTRICT #73 MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL BOARD MEETING REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

Central Office Tuesday, April 19, 2016 6:00pm

## **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Jeff Russell

Beverly Wilson

Gene Moses

**Larry Sanders** 

Mark Ferrell

Tarrole Milfeld

Terry Noble

Dr. Trish Burkeen

Dr. Clint Freeman

Dr. Joshua Isaacson

**Staff Members** 

Administrators

Citizens and Others

## **Item #1: Call to Order:**

Meeting was called to order by President Jeff Russell at 6:00 p.m.

### **Item #2: Approval of Agenda:**

Mr. Jeff Russell asked if there were any changes to the agenda.

Recommendation: Move to adopt the agenda as presented or modified.

Action: Motion by Gene Moses; Second by Mark Ferrell

Vote: For 7 Against Abstain

Carried: Yes

## **Item #3: New Business**

# Item #3a: Dissolution of the Board

Recommendation: Move to dissolve the current Board for the purpose of reorganizing the new Board as presented or modified.

Action: Motion by Beverly Wilson; Second by Tarrole Milfeld

Vote: For 7 Against Abstain

Carried: Yes

## **Item #3b: Oath of Office to Elected Members**

As per Board policy, the secretary of the Board will administer the Oath of Office to Larry Sanders and Jeff Russell as they beginning their three year terms of office

### **Item #3c: Elect Board Officers**

As per Board policy, the Board should elect officers for the new Board. Our policy indicates we will elect a president, vice president, secretary and treasurer. The secretary and treasurer may be one person and does not have to be a Board member. Angie Reando currently serves as treasurer and Elaine Huskey is Board Secretary. The Superintendent will moderate the meeting until the president is elected. Once the president is elected, he or she will preside over the other elections.

Entertain nominations for the office of President of the Board for a one year term.

Recommendation: Move to approve by acclamation the election of Jeff Russell as President of the Board for a one year term as presented or modified.

Action: Motion by Terry Noble; Second by Beverly Wilson

Vote: For 7 Against Abstain

Carried: Yes

Entertain nominations for the office of Vice - President of the Board for a one year term.

Recommendation: Move to approve by acclamation the election of Beverly Wilson as Vice - President of the Board for a one year term as presented or modified.

Action: Motion by Terry Noble; Second by Jeff Russell

Vote: For 7 Against Abstain

Carried: Yes

Entertain nominations for the office of Secretary of the Board for a one year term at an annual salary of \$3000.00

Recommendation: Move to approve the acclamation the election of Elaine Huskey as Secretary of the Board for the 2016-2017 school year for an annual salary of \$3000.00 as presented or modified.

Action: Motion by Beverly Wilson; Second by Gene Moses

Vote: For 7 Against Abstain

Carried: Yes

Entertain nominations for the office of Treasurer of the Board for a one year term.

Recommendation: Move to approve the acclamation the election of Angie Reando as Treasurer of the Board for the 2016-2017 as presented or modified.

Action: Motion by Larry Sanders; Second by Mark Ferrell

Vote: For 7 Against Abstain

Carried: Yes

### **Item #3d: Board Policy 1471. Naming Facilities**

Board policy 1471, Naming facilities requires the Board President to appoint two Board Members to serve a one year term on a committee to review issues regarding naming of facilities. As per the policy, this appointment is to occur annually at the Board's April reorganizational meeting. Gene Moses and Larry Sanders agreed to serve on this committee.

# Item #3e: Appoint Board Member to Serve as MSBA Delegate

Mark Ferrell agreed to serve in the position.

Attested by:

Secretary of the Board, Elaine Huskey

Recommendation: Move to adjourn reorganizational meeting and enter into regular session as presented. Motion was made at 6:04 p.m.

Action: Motion by Larry Sanders; Second by Gene Moses

Motion carried with the following roll call vote: Jeff Russell –yes; Terry Noble –yes

Beverly Wilson –yes; Mark Ferrell – yes; Tarrole Milfeld –yes; Larry Sanders –yes

Gene Moses – yes

Carried: Yes

Approved this \_\_\_\_\_\_ day of May 2016

Signed by: \_\_\_\_\_\_

President, Jeff Russell